How do I perform a master reset on my eTrex 10, 20, 30, 20x or 30x?

  • Email this Answer
  • Print this Answer

08/25/2015

If your eTrex 10/20/30 or 20x/30x is failing to perform as expected, it may be necessary to master reset the device. Master resets clear user settings by restoring the device to factory default settings. There are a few other troubleshooting steps that can be performed before a master reset.

If your device is failing to provide an accurate position, distance or speed, an Auto Locate should be performed first to refresh satellite data. If the issue persists, continue with this article.

Often issues are caused by corrupt GPS user data, for example waypoints, routes, tracks and geocaches. To attempt a backup of this data before removing it, reference the FAQ, “How do I back up user data from my outdoor GPS with a USB interface?” To remove this data from the device, reference the FAQ, “How do I delete GPX files from my mass storage device?” and delete all GPX files in the device.

To perform a master reset:

  1. Ensure the device is off
  2. Press and hold menu and enter*
  3. Press and release light/power
  4. Wait to see, Do you really want to erase all user data?
  5. Release Menu and Enter
  6. Select Yes

The device should now be reset to default factory settings, all user data should be removed, and the device should function as expected.

* Press the center of the Thumb Stick.

*Please provide your feedback to help us improve your experience.

Submit